The Eugie Award Symposium

The Eugie Award Symposium for Speculative Fiction brings together science fiction, fantasy, and horror authors, editors, and scholars from around the world. The Eugie Foster Memorial Award for Short Fiction (or Eugie Award), honors stories that are beautiful, thoughtful, passionate, and that change both individual readers and the field of speculative fiction as a whole. This annual award is presented at Dragon Con, the nation’s largest fan-run convention.


This year's symposium will include a special video presentation of the 2020 award ceremony (including a mini-documentary on the making of the Eugie Award) and two roundtable discussions. The first roundtable will be led by Georgia Tech professor and current Eugie juror Dr. Amanda Weiss as she discusses the past, present, and future of speculative fiction with authors Thoraiya Dyer, Siobhan Carroll, L Chan, Andy Dudak, and Jerome Stueart. The second roundtable will feature past and present Eugie jurors, including critically-acclaimed author and educator Chesya Burke, as they explore the meaning and value of science fiction awards. The event will conclude with a digital happy hour where symposium attendees will have the opportunity to interact with symposium panelists.

All symposium events are free and open to the public.


Register now

Register in advance for free tickets.

Register now